Intermission: An Introduction

Hi all!

I know this is far from what I’ve been posting here, but since I’m new to the blogging scene, I think a little intrduction seems best.

My name is Bianca Marie Nery from the Philippines. Growing up, I’ve always been misunderstood by my peers. I would prefer quiet corners to rough play and books to teen magazines. Even as a child, I wanted to put words to everything I felt. It was only until later that I learned how.

Being what I was, I spent most of my pre-teens in a state of depression. I even entertained thoughts of suicide, though I never acted on them. Then, one day, my high school English teacher gave us an assignment, which was to write a poem. I can’t remember what it was I wrote, and I probably threw it away a long time ago, but that was when I got the idea to start writing my own poetry.

Why?” was the very first I wrote during what I would call my “experimental days”, as I was still trying to find my own style. I took to reading works from Robert Frost, Emily Dickinson, and Emily Brontë, as books with their works were what I had easy access to. Everything followed from there.

Because of this I was able to give a voice to everything I kept bottled up inside. I found something to keep me grounded. Especially now, with COVID-19 and everything else going on, this has become my little bubble of relief from all the stress I’ve been feeling. Writing is and will always be my passion and my comfort.

I know I’ve only been here a short time, but I am grateful for everyone who liked my work and followed my blog. There aren’t that many right now but I still appreciate every one of you. Much love for everyone out there. Stay safe.

Marie